I saw Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day on DVD and didn’t care for it. It was probably because I had seen Amy Adams as the perfect princess Giselle in Enchanted, and it was too painful to watch her play a floozy in Miss Pettigrew. (If I were Disney, I’d have made Amy Adams sign a morals clause preventing her from playing flooozies, ever!)

So I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy the book on which it was based, Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson. But Audible had it on special in January and it had good reviews there, so I decided to give it a listen. The audio book is read by Frances McDormand, who played Miss Pettigrew in the film. The story is delightful, even though Miss Lafosse starts off as, well, a floozy. Ms. McDormand is an excellent narrator, although she occasionally lapsed into a different voice at inappropriate moments. It was minor enough that I won’t even take off half a star. 5 stars for this one!

